Russia 2018 World Cup: Buhari Bids Super Eagles Farewell

Charges them to make Nigeria proud



President Muhammadu Buhari on Wednesday bids players and officials of the national football team, Super Eagles farewell to the Russia 2018 World Cup charging them to make Nigeria proud.

The President said this during a reception for the Super Eagles inside the Council Chambers of the Aso Rock Presidential Villa in Abuja before the commencement of the weekly cabinet meeting.

He said: “We look up to you to make us proud.”

Mr. Buhari reminded the players they carry the emotions of 180 million Nigerians each time they go out to the pitch to play.

According to him, nothing unites Nigeria more than football.

The Captain of the team, Mikel Obi, said: “All we have to do now is to go out there and make the country proud and come back with the trophy. ”

The team was presented to the President by the Minister of Sports and Youth Development, Solomon Dalung.

The brief reception was witnessed by the Vice-President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo and other members of the Federal Executive Council (FEC).

The Gernot Rohr’s led Super Eagles are expected to depart the Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport on Wednesday for London on a week plus training camp in Austria ahead of the June 14 kick off of the 2018 FIFA World Cup.

In-between the final camping in Austria, the team will play a final pre-World Cup friendly against the Czech Republic at the Rudolf Tonn Stadium (just outside Vienna) next Wednesday.

The Eagles are drawn in Group D against two-time champions, Argentina, Croatia and Iceland.

The squad, comprising 3 goalkeepers, 9 defenders, 7 midfielders and 5 attackers, will join Chelsea star Victor Moses in the UK as they prepare for the friendly game against England on Saturday.

Super Eagles Full Squad:

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho, Daniel Akpeyi, Ikechukwu Ezenwa.

Defenders: Abdullahi Shehu, Tyronne Ebuehi, William Troost-Ekong, Leon Balogun, Chidozie Awaziem, Kenneth Omeruo, Bryan Idowu, Ola Aina, Elderson Echiejile.

Midfielders: Ogenyi Onazi, Mikel Agu, Wilfred Ndidi, Joel Obi, John Ogu, Oghenekharo Etebo, Mikel Obi.

Attackers: Alex Iwobi, Kelechi Iheanacho, Ahmed Musa, Odion Ighalo and Simy Nwankwo.