Ahmed Ibrahim Lawan Emerges new Senate President


Senator Ahmed Ibrahim Lawan has been elected the Senate President of the 9th Senate.

The Yobe North Constituency Senator defeated his closest rival, Senator Ali Ndume.

Mr Lawan polled 79 votes to beat Ndume, who got28 votes.

After a secret ballot voting, the clerk to the National Assembly, Mohammed Sani-Omolori, announced Mr Lawan’s victory to the cheers of Senators and others in the chamber.

Mr Sani-Omolori said 107 senators cast their votes.

“It is my pleasure to announce that Senator elect, Ahmed Lawan, having scored the highest number of total votes cast is hereby returned duly elected as Senate President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria,” he said.

Former Senate Leader, Mr Lawan is the favoured candidate of the All Progressives Congress(APC).

His nomination was moved in a motion by Senator Yahaya Abdullahi and seconded by Adeola Olamilaken of Lagos West.

Omo-Agege Defeats Ekweremadu to Emerge DSP

In a related development, Ovie Omo-Agege, lawmaker representing Delta central, has been elected deputy senate president.

The All Progressives Congress (APC) senator garnered 68 votes to defeat Ike Ekweremadu of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who polled 37 votes.

A total of 105 votes were cast. One vote was voided.

The former deputy senate president had surprising joined the race to be the Deputy President of the Senate with his nomination to stand for election.

Ekweremadu who never spoke of his intentions in the rundown to the elections was however nominated by senator-elect Chukwuka Utazi, while Senator-elect, Rose Oko (Cross River North) seconded the motion for Ekweremadu’s nomination.

Senator-elect Ahmed Baba Kaita (Katsina North) had nominated Omo-Agege, while Senator-elect Abdullahi Aliyu Sabi (Niger North) seconded it.