Ahmed Lawan Names Ninth Senate Principal Officers


The Senate President, Ahmed Lawan has announced the names of principal officers of the ninth Senate following a letter from the two leading political parties.

That’s the All Progressives Congress (APC) and Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Senator Abdullahi Yahaya, Kebbi, representing North Senatorial District was announced as the Senate Leader, while Senator Ajayi Borrofice, Ondo, representing North Senatorial District emerged Deputy Senate Leader.

Senator Orji Uzor Kalu, representing Abia North Senatorial District was named as the Chip Whip of the upper chamber while Abdullahi Sabi, North Senatorial District emerged the Deputy Chief Whip.

Senator Enyinanya Abaribe, representing Abia South Senatorial District emerged as Minority Leader while Senator Emmanuel Bwacha, representing Taraba South Senatorial District emerged Deputy Minority Leader.

Furthermore, Senator Phillip Aduda, representing the FCT was named Minority Chief Whip while Senator Shabi Yau, Zamfara North Senatorial District emerged Deputy Minority Chief Whip.

All of them form the Body of Principal Officers also known as Selection Committee.

They are expected to assign senators to committees based on interest earlier shown by them.

The newly constituted lawmakers resumed on Tuesday after a two-week recess.