Sanwo-olu Assigns Potfolios to 35 Commissioners ,Special Advisers


Lagos State Governor, Mr. Babajide Olusola Sanwo-olu has assigned portfolios to the 35 Commissioners and Special Advisers swore-in on Tuesday.

The Commissioners sworn in include:

Mr. Rabiu Olowo Onaolapo (Finance)

Mrs. Folashade Adefisayo (Education)

Prof. Akin Abayomi (Health)

Dr. Idris Salako (Physical Planning and Urban Development)

Mr. Gbenga Omotoso (Information and Strategy)

Mrs. Bolaji Dada (Women Affairs and Poverty Alleviation)

‘Mr. Lere Odusote (Energy and Natural Resources)

Dr. Frederic Oladeinde (Transportation)

Mr. Gbolahan Lawal (Agriculture)

Moruf Akinderu Fatai (Housing)

Mr. Moyo Onigbanjo, SAN, (Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice)

Other Commissioners are Mr. Hakeem Fahm (Science and Technology)

Mrs. Ajibola Ponnle (Establishment, Training and Pension)

Engr. Aramide Adeyoye (Works and Infrastructure)

Mr. Segun Dawodu (Youth and Social Development)

Mrs. Uzamat Akinbile-Yusuf (Home Affairs)

Mrs. Yetunde Arobieke (Local Government and Community Affairs

 Mrs. Lola Akande (Commerce and Industry)

Mrs. Olufunke Adebolu (Tourism Arts and Culture)

Mr. Sam Egube (Economy Planning and Budget).

The Special Advisers are

Dr. Wale Ahmed (Special Duties and Inter-Governmental Relations)

Ms Ruth Bisola Olusanya (Agriculture)

Princess Aderemi Adebowale (Civic Engagement)

Mr. Afolabi Ayantayo (Political and Legislative Affairs)

Mrs. Toke Benson-Awoyinka (Housing), and

Joe Igbokwe (Drainage and Water Resources).

Others Advisers are

Olatunbosun Alake (Innovation and Technology)

Arc. Kabiru Ahmed Abdullahi (Urban Development)

Anofi Elegushi (Central Business Districts)

Bonu Solomon Saanu (Arts and Culture)

Oluwatoyin Fayinka (Transportation)

Oladele Ajayi (Commerce and Industry)

Tokunbo Wahab (Education), and

Solape Hammond (Sustainable Development Goals).

The Governor while charging the appointees to bring their years of leadership and administrative experience to bear in handling affairs of the state, stressed that the people of Lagos could not wait any longer to benefit from his administration’s programmes.

He said: “It is with pride that I congratulate the new Commissioners and Special Advisers on your well-deserved appointments. It is a testament to your capacity, your accomplishments and your track record of hard work, commitment, dedication and professionalism in your private and public endeavours.

“Today, all of you are inducted into a singular administration, unique in its diversity – both of heritage and of creed – made up of technical and politically skilled men and women who understand the challenges of our State, grasp the grand vision of our administration, and are sensitive to the yearnings of our citizens, whom we must ultimately serve.”

Sanwo-Olu said the ultimate goal of his administration was to ensure Lagos remained the top destination for business, work and living in Africa, reiterating his government’s commitment to build on the foundation laid by his predecessors through Lagos Development Blueprint initiated by the government of APC National Leader, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu.

The Governor charged the appointees on innovation, commitment and exemplary leadership in the assigned roles, while also advising them to be prepared for the challenges ahead and be ready to pay any price for the development of Lagos.

He said: “Great opportunities for employment and wealth creation can only be realised sustainably if we are able to enhance governance with creativity, innovation and technology, while embracing collaboration with the private sector and continual dialogue and partnership with all relevant stakeholders.

“This is the task we have been called upon to undertake in the next four years on behalf of our people who are relying on us to support their dreams and aspirations. I charge you all to show commitment, diligence and exemplary leadership as the necessary virtues needed to achieve the greatness we desire for our State and to deliver the prosperity our people deserve.”