Olumide Akpata Elected NBA President


A non-inner bar member, Mr Olumide Akpata, has been elected the 30th President of the Nigerian Bar Association.

He will lead the NBA in the next two years.

Akpata, who is a former Chairman of the NBA Section on Business Law, (NBA-SBl) defeated two senior advocates- Dr. Babatunde Ajibade and Mr. Dele Adesina.

Mr. Akpata polled 9,891 votes to defeat his other contenders, Dr. Ajibade and Mr Adesina, who polled 4,328 votes and Adesina 3,982 votes.

The 2020 Elections into national offices of the NBA opened at 11.00p.m. on Wednesday (July 29) with a total of 29,635 accredited voters, and ended at 11.00p.m. on Thursday (July 30).

The election was by electronic voting had a total of 18,256 ballots cast.

The results of the elections were announced by the Chairman of the Electoral Committee of the NBA (ECNBA) Mr.Tawo.Eja Tawo, a senior advocate of Nigeria.

“I Tawo Eja Taw, the chairman electoral committee of the Nigerian Bar Association (ECNBA), as the electoral officer for the 2020 national officers election hereby declare that Akpata Olumide Anthony, having scored the highest number of votes cast and satisfying the provisions of the constitution of the NBA 2015 as amended, as the winner of the election into the office of president of the NBA,” Tawo Tawo, chairman of the committee, declared.

Other elected officers for the various offices include Mr John Aikpokpo-Martins as NBA First Vice President with a total of 6,010 votes.

Mr Adeyemo Kazeem emerged NBA Second Vice President with 8,794 votes, Mrs Joyce Oduah was elected NBA General Secretary with 8, 979 votes, while
Mrs Uchenna Nwadialo polled 7,314 votes to emerge NBA’s Assistant General Secretary.

Mrs Mercy Agada was elected NBA Treasurer unopposed.

Mr Nnamdi Anagor emerged the financial secretary unopposed while Mr Olukunle Edun was elected NBA Welfare Secretary with 9,001 votes.

Dr Rapulu Nduka emerged the NBA Publicity Secretary with 11,964 votes while Mr Naza Afam polled 6,490 votes to emerge NBA Assistant Publicity Secretary.

Akpata expressed appreciation to NBA members for electing him the President, and promised that NBA would record transformation during his administration.

“Yesterday, we made history and today, I want to thank each and everyone of you who supported me and who was part of this process.

“I want to salute my entire team who worked tirelessly to make this a reality, sacrificing precious time to deliver our mandate”, Akpata tweeted on Thursday.

Similarly, Oduah and Edun (General Secretary and Welfare Secretary) thanked God and their supporters for the election, and pledged to live up to their campaign promises.

Akpata is a graduate of Law from the University of Benin.

He is a Senior Partner at Templars, a leading commercial law firm.

Akpata, is the first non-SAN to be elected President of the Bar since 1989 when the late Alao Aka-Bashorun was at the helm.

The new executives will be sworn in at a later date.

ElectionBuddy, a U.S.-based website hosted by Godaddy, provided the service (website) for the NBA 2020 Elections