Ondo Assembly suspends Deputy Speaker, as Majority Leader Resigns


The Ondo House of Assembly has suspended its deputy speaker, Iroju Ogundeji (Odigbo Constituency I)for alleged unruly behaviour.

Ogundeji was suspended alongside a member representing Ondo West II Constituency, Adewale Williams.

Both lawmakers were among the nine lawmakers that did not sign the impeachment notice against the Deputy Governor Agboola Ajayi.

Mr Ajayi was served impeachment notice on Tuesday after he left the All Progressives Congress (APC) for the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Besides,the Majority Leader of the Assembly, Jamiu Maito (Akoko North West I Constituency) has also tendered his resignation letter.

Maito’s letter of resignation was read by the Clerk of the House, Bode Adeyelu, during the plenary session on Wednesday.

He was said to have violated the standard rule of the house.

A committee has been set up by the House to investigate the allegations levelled against him.